The 1892 Boston & Maine (B&M) locomotive #494, located within the village of White River Junction, and town of Hartford, Vermont, is the oldest surviving “American 4-4-0” in its original configuration, built by the New Hampshire-based Manchester Locomotive Works.
The White River Junction Historic District is located in the unincorporated Village of White River Junction, one of five villages within Hartford, Vermont. In addition to being located at the junction of two rivers, five railroads were constructed between 1847 and 1863 in White River Junction; forever linking the village’s economic prosperity to the railroad industry.
In 1761, after the French and Indian Wars, the Town of Hartford was one of the first Vermont towns to be granted a town charter. Eventually Hartford evolved into a five-village town, which includes Quechee, White River Junction, Wilder, Hartford Village and West Hartford.
The Quechee Gorge Bridge (also called the Ottauquechee River Bridge) is the oldest standing steel arch bridge in Vermont, spanning 285 feet in length and sitting 163 feet above the Ottauquechee River. The Quechee Gorge Bridge provides breathtaking views of the Vermont’s deepest gorge, also known as “Vermont’s Grand Canyon.”
The Quechee Historic Mill District, also known as Quechee Village, was constructed from the early 1800s to the 1900s, with the majority of buildings dating to the mid-19th century. The Quechee Historic Mill District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.
Norwich Village Historic District in Vermont showcases a community that truly values and invests in its heritage, exuding a charm and character unique to New England with its beautifully restored buildings of Federal, Georgian Plan, Cape Cod and Greek Revival styles, set close to the road on relatively flat lots, shaded by large, mature trees.
The Thetford Center Historic District is located on the Connecticut River just west of the town of Thetford. Developed along the falls of the Ompompanoosuc River Valley, it is the former site for significant manufacturing at the end of the 18th century and continuing until the first half of the 20th century.
Standing unpretentious near fields stretching north and west, with views of the Vermont Piedmont mountain range, is the neoclassic-built Post Mills Church. Exuding a sense of solitude and peace in the village of Post Mills, within the town of Thetford, the church, also known as Post Mills Meeting House, was built in 1821.
The Lyme Common Historic District is comprised of more than sixty structures that front the Lyme Common and the surrounding network of six roads which intersect at the Common.
The Sphinx Tomb, located on East Wheelock Street in Hanover, New Hampshire, is one of the only aspects of the Sphinx secret senior society that isn’t a secret. This windowless, one-story poured concrete building was constructed in 1903 as headquarters for the Sphinx Society, and has the distinction of being the first building in Hanover to be listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.
The Hanover Town Library, also called the Etna Library because of its physical location in the village of Etna, is the town’s first library building constructed at a time when there was great interest in small community libraries. The Etna Library is unique in that it is almost completely unaltered from the time of its construction in 1905 and has never faltered from its mission as a small community library.